Bargain Bin: Midnight Society the Black Lake

Once I shied away from superhero titles, but now I’m on a quest to stretch my comic book budget further… (for a summary of that journey see this post.)

The Acquisition

All 4 issues of this stand alone mini-series published by Dark Horse was picked up at a used book store for 50 cents an issue! They have the standard $3.99 cover price, which would have been around $16 at full price. By only paying $2 I received a 88% discount! Compared to the trade paperback at $14.99 my acquisition was discounted by 86%.

I was more than happy.

My Familiarity With the Title

I had read an early review, which sounded promising. But I’ve learned not to trust reviews of comics before they are released to the public. In any event, I didn’t pick this up and I can’t remember the reason why. It’s possible my pull list was already too full or the comic book store didn’t order any copies.

I remember a few disappointing reviews after it was released. But they paid full price, I paid $2. Would that make a difference?

How were the Issues?

These issues were amazing, and I would have paid full price for them. The covers too are spectacular! The plot balances mystery with ethical dilemmas, which are two elements of story telling that I appreciate.

My original plan was to flip these, but I’ll be putting them in my “permanent” collection… which are my high quality favorites. They are only full runs and only about 10% of my collection.

Honestly, if there are follow up series I’ll add them to the pull list.

Will I read it to my children?

While this is probably considered part of the ‘horror’ genre it is light and won’t give nightmares. There are a lot of characters to track and dangling plot threads, but no kissy face stuff.

 

 

Leave a Reply

