Bargain Bin: All-New X-Factor

Once I shied away from superhero titles, but now I’m on a quest to stretch my comic book budget further… (for a summary of that journey see this post.)

The Acquisition

I only have 3 titles, two of which were from a an auction that included other titles. The other one was from the 50 Cent bin at a store. I picked it up knowing I had recently acquired the other two.

I short, I sort of wound up with these issues.

My Familiarity With the Title

I can’t keep track of these X-titles.

I think one of the characters was from Alpha Flight, but that’s a guess because she has green hair and wears unusual glasses. I should also point out that I don’t know what Alpha Flight is other than it somehow involves Canada.

Gambit is in it too, but I only know him from the cartoon in the 90s. So I’m guessing he’s changed. After all it has been over 20 years.

Quicksilver is in it too. Every issue I’ve read that had Quicksilver in it had him as a minor character or his appearance was temporary. I’m guessing that is why he seems like 6 different characters to me. Which one will show up in this series?

All that said, these issues were written by Peter David who wrote the issues of the Incredible Hulk that I picked up.

How were the Issues?

These were fun. Which seems unusual and fresh for a series written in the last 5 years or so.

Will I read it to my children?

These might be the issues I suggest my children to read if (when) they show an interest in X-Men. I know it’s a different title but the themes and characters travel the same orbit.

Favorite Panels

Nothing really stuck out. But it is only 3 issues.

 

Leave a Reply

