Bargain Bin: Black Road

Once I shied away from superhero titles, but now I’m on a quest to stretch my comic book budget further… (for a summary of that journey see this post.)

The Acquisition

Black Road is series by Brian Wood and published by Image. I purchased the first issue at full price when it came out. I liked it but, couldn’t justify adding it to my pull list to purchase each month.

Then on a random trip to a used book store, I found issues 2 – 5 in their comics section for $1.50. Cover price was $3.99, so these issues were more than half off. Most of the stuff I’ve been picking up have had significantly lower cover prices, so they haven’t been worth mentioning.

Overall I walked out of the store feeling pretty awesome that I was going to be able to read the series.

My Familiarity With the Title

I’m familiar with Brian Wood through the historical series Rebels which was set in the American revolution, and his super hero mini series Mara. They were published by Dark Horse and Image respectively.

I really enjoyed Rebels and did not enjoy Mara (although I remember the art was really great). I wound up selling Mara with a bunch of other comics to the same used book store, and it was not a sale that yielded much in terms of cash.

In any case, my conclusion was that Brian Wood wrote really good historical fiction, and anything else I needed to be cautious.

How were the Issues?

They were great! It had an interesting plot, engaging dialogue and spectacular art. These 5 issues only make up the first arc and the issues for the 2nd arc are currently being published.

Will I read it to my children?

Nope. Not a series for kids.

 

 

One thought on “Bargain Bin: Black Road

  1. Pingback: Bargain Bin: X-Men Volume 4 | Issue 47

Leave a Reply

