Bargain Bin: X-Force (Volume 4)

Once I shied away from superhero titles, but now I’m on a quest to stretch my comic book budget further… (for a summary of that journey see this post.)

The Acquisition

This was purchased from an Ebay auction that listed several different series. Many of auctions that have multiple series do not list the titles. Some will even say that they are random (I don’t believe them), or that they haven’t been picked over (I always assume the previous owner picked over it).

In this case, all the titles and issues were disclosed. I just wasn’t smart enough and wound up bidding on an auction that I thought would fill the gaps in my “Uncanny X-Force”. But no. The auction only included titles for “X-Force” without the “Uncanny” prefix.

Yes, I got this one by mistake.

The lot was for 30 issues, 7 were X-Force ranging from issue 3 to 14. In total I paid about $12. This means I received 10 times as many comics from this auction than I would have received if I spent the same amount on new titles.

My Familiarity With the Title

Obviously not very familiar if I bid on the auction thinking it was a different series. I was slightly more familiar with the writer Si Spurrier.

How were the Issues?

Uncanny X-Force was not my favorite, so I didn’t have high expectations for this series. It features two of the characters that made Uncanny weird.

But they weren’t weird this time and the series was glorious. When I read an issue by Si Spurrier I feel like I’m getting more than one story.

Obviously, it’s a team series. Or in theatric terms it is an ensemble cast. The series landed well with me for a couple of reasons:

  • Each of the issues I read focuses on one of the team members mostly through inner monologue, but continues to advance the plot for the entire team. Instead it builds momentum as the other characters reference previous issues either through dialogue or action.
  • Each character has a unique voice. It’s like there is a team of writers working here. Not just one. I am very, very envious.

Will I read it to my children?

Tough call on this. It has a lot of violence, but not a lot of gore. The language isn’t out of control (one issue actually deals with this in a rather humorous way). I don’t feel that women are misrepresented. Characters face dilemmas that are not always solved by violence and their decisions have consequences.

In short, it’s probably not something that I’d walk up to my 6 & 9 year old and say “Hey let’s read this.” But if they were asking for a recommendation on X-Men (or any X titles) I’d probably share it with them.

Favorite Panels

At some point in my bargain reading I started taking pictures of panels that I thought I could sneak into a Facebook comment or two and look totally hip. This is one of the few modern titles that had these types of panels.

 

Leave a Reply

