Bargain Bin: The New Avengers

Once I shied away from superhero titles, but now I’m on a quest to stretch my comic book budget further… (for a summary of that journey see this post.)

The Acquisition

In total I acquired 6 issues, 3 from volume 1 and 3 from volume 3. They were obtained through a couple of mix lot auctions where I was looking for other titles. One I think was from a 50 cent bin and another I picked up for around $1.50 at a used book store. This haphazard approach resulted in none of the issues being consecutive.

The average price was less than a dollar issue. Since this wasn’t really a title I set out to collect, I wasn’t overly enthusiastic about obtaining them. But the low cost kept me from feeling like this was some high risk gamble.

My Familiarity With the Title

This is the Avengers right? I’ve been reading some issues from the 80’s. I should totally know all of these characters…

Volume 1 was written by Brian Michael Bendis and Volume 3 was written by Jonathan Hickman. Surprisingly, I don’t think I’ve had much exposure to either one of these two pillars of the current Marvel era.

How were the Issues?

… It was like I was reading these characters for the first time, and it was awesome!

The volume 1 issues were part of the “Secret Invasion” story line, and I slightly preferred that to volume 3, which was basically a secret order of prominent Marvel characters. Both did a good job of filling in the holes between the issues.

Will I read it to my children?

I will recommend it when they express interest in epic level superhero story lines.

 

One thought on “Bargain Bin: The New Avengers

  1. Pingback: Bargain Bin: Avengers Volume 5 | Issue 47

Leave a Reply

