Bargain Bin: Daredevil

Once I shied away from superhero titles, but now I’m on a quest to stretch my comic book budget further… (for a summary of that journey see this post.)

The Acquisition

My first serious endeavor into bargain priced comics was Daredevil. These were primarily acquired through 2 online auctions, for a total of 15 comics priced at about 75 cents an issue. The math works out to about $12 spent for 15 issues. Compared to current issues that are priced around $4/issue the same $12 would have yielded just 3 issues. Regardless of whether I enjoyed reading them, the purchase felt like a win.

I noticed there are not a lot of auctions specifically for the character Daredevil, but there are regular lots for sale in the range of about 6-8 issues. One auction included a complete story arc by Ed Brubaker (one of my favorite comic book writers).

My Familiarity With the Title

I had read a little of Daredevil on comixology (through a sale), This was mostly Frank Miller’s early work and Mark Waid’s recent run. As with most Marvel titles I feel like I don’t understand the larger context so I struggle to understand the story being told.

I also watched the movie and a few episodes of the Netflix series. As a grown adult, I have no shame in saying that I am not old enough to watch the Netflix series. It was gruesome and violent to the point I had my head turned for most of the episodes I watched. Surprisingly, my wife loved them.

How were the Issues?

These bargain additions are about the same experience for me in terms of not getting the broader context of the Marvel Universe. Some of the issues are good and I’d enjoy the others more if I understood what was going on.

The one thing that really struck me about the character is how self destructive he can be and then quite strikingly be overly optimistic. It made me wonder if the character is bipolar, and if that has been explored in the series.

Will I read it to my children?

Nope. Too gory. violent and sometimes just weird. For issues that fell under the Comics Code Authority they wouldn’t be enjoyable for my children.

Favorite Panels

At some point in my bargain reading I started taking pictures of panels that I thought I could sneak into a Facebook comment or two and look totally hip. Haven’t tried it yet, but here are the panels I’m saving for the right occasion.

 

Leave a Reply

