1 vs 1: Red Sonja vs Surviving Megalopolis

vs Red Sonja & Surving Megalopolis

1 vs 1 is where two comic books battle it out in a winner takes all contest to see which one I’ll continue to purchase and which one gets dropped.except when I decide to keep reading the second one anyway.

Winner: Three way tie between Red Sonja and Gail Simone and Marguerite Bennett

The Contestants

There are so many first issues out this month with so many interesting story lines it seems overwhelming.

The Favorite(s)

Gail Simone. Not only is the writer for Surviving Megalopolis, she had an amazing run on  Red Sonja and coordinated Dynamite’s cross over event Swords of Sorrow which set the stage for Marguerite Bennett to begin her run on Red Sonja.

So while only one of these two walks away. Gail Simone has a share in both. So she wins either way. An historic first if this completely made up competition that is less than a year old.

Marguerite Bennett has had what I consider an amazing (and overlooked) run on Marvel’s Angela. Both in Angela Assassin of Asgard and Angela Queen of Hel. Angela is a character that is not dissimilar from Red Sonja. And Bennett has done some remarkable storytelling on those titles. Having her follow Simone on the title is equal parts: good fortune and a no brainer.

The Match

  • Red Sonja
    • Doesn’t explain the change in Red Sonja’s wardrobe. And it doesn’t need to. Good call on Bennett. The last thing the story needs is 6 panel explanation on why a warrior needs to wear cloths. If any explanation is owed it is the previous chain mail bikini that needs to be explained. And not by the writer. By me. To my wife… So this is the first time a print version of Red Sonja made it into my house. (Digital is a totally different story).
    • There were a couple pages where I didn’t understand the sequence, which took me out of the story as I tried (and failed) to understand what was going on. I don’t mind not understanding a sequence, as long as I’m not supposed to understand it based on what I’ve read. But this had the feel that I should have known.
    • Red Sonja’s characterization had it’s moments, but it also had a few moments where I wondered if Red Sonja was being written too soft. But at the end of the story we begin to see a familiar Red Sonja emerge. There’s potential that this could carry through well into the next issue. I hope that’s the case, but I’ve had my hopes crushed before so I won’t hope to the point of convincing myself that the second issue will be action packed Red Sonja madness.
    • The Art by Aneke was fantastic.
  • Surviving Megalopolis
    • Little did I know that Surviving Megalopolis is a continuation or follow up to Leaving Megalopolis. It looks brilliant. Both in terms of art and storytelling. It’s just not a great place to start the series from.

What Others Think

Red Sonja Vol. 3 sold out. So, retailers have good things to say about Red Sonja. Surviving Megalopolis hasn’t received that many reviews, so eh.

Final Thoughts… a Question Really

I noticed the variant covers for the new Dynamite titles can be put side by side to form a larger image. An obvious tactic to cross sell titles. Each of the covers for Surviving Megalopolis are a piece of a larger image. Is this part of Gail Simone’s play book?

Leave a Reply

