Sidepost: Marvel

Sidepost is a series of slightly off topic posts to this comic book & storytelling blog.

Comic book fans tend to divide themselves (and each other) into two camps: Marvel and DC. To me it appears that it is really Marvel and not Marvel.

The Marvel comic book universe has always been impenetrable while simultaneously appearing to be inescapable. A fortress that is next to impossible to break into, but when you do it seems like you are never able to escape.

That’s not to say that I haven’t tried. But here is one of a handful of examples where I tried to scale those walls: Spider-Gwen.

I love the art. I love the concept. I don’t connect with the plot because I’m not a level 9 Marvel fan. The issues of Spider Gwen rely heavily on the drama from the characters counterparts in the more established universe.

So for a new comer like me there’s a lot of subtext and no way to enjoy it without spending hundreds of dollars.

Let’s take a step back to appreciate that for a second.

In order to appreciate to approx. 22 pages of storytelling in a $5 comic book, I must first invest hundreds of dollars in obtaining back issues or digitally. All of which suffer the same problem. You must understand the whole to appreciate the parts.

The movies, cartoons and TV shows are fun, but it’s not a cost effective substitute for purchasing the Marvel comic book canon.

I’m not saying it’s wrong or it sucks. It just doesn’t work for me as a reader and I would speculate it won’t work (much longer) for the execs at Disney.

But I’ll save that for another Sidepost.

One thought on “Sidepost: Marvel

  1. Pingback: Sidepost: What’s good for Disney | Issue 47

Leave a Reply

