Review: Lady Mechanika issues #0 – #3

LadyMechanika

Lady Mechanika: The Mystery of the Mechanical Corpse is one of the best written comic books I’ve read. (But honestly, I haven’t read that many).

The production history is a source of confusion. From what I gather Issue #0 was published in 2010 by Aspen. Issues 1 & 2 were published in 2011. Issue 3 was published in 2013, same month when it was announced that Aspen and the creator Joe Benitez parted ways.

I started reading the story in 2013. It appeared as a recommendation in my Kindle app. I was drawn to it because it seemed like a nice break from the typical Marvel & DC characters. In general, I’m a fan of independent artists. Oh, and issue #0 was free.

But it was only available through issue 2 on Kindle. Last month issue 3 became available on Comixology, and I noticed that now there are no kindle versions available.

An Advanced Readers Copy (ARC) for issue 4 can now be ordered off the official website for $15. I’m not sure when it will be available in stores or in Comixology.

Enough of the real world drama and confusion

Lady Mechanika is a comic that can be enjoyed by boys and girls’, men and women. It is a steampunk [ wikipedia article ] mystery. The artwork can feel extremely dark. But it is also set in a (fictional) time when light bulbs were not apart of everyone’s daily life.

To date: it is beautifully and consistently drawn. The creator seems seems extremely focused on quality, which I speculate is a contributing factor for the delay in production. But I’d rather have consistent quality and lament the loss of a great story that was never completed, than have a complete story that has gaps in quality.

What I really like about this is that Lady M finds enough value in society to adopt its virtues, even though she is practically an outcast. This makes her an compelling virtuous hero.

Lady M’s virtues and moral code isn’t a clear part of the story… Just something I found myself thinking about after I reading issue #2.

Much to the dismay of several comic book puritans the series is heavy on dialogue. Honestly, I prefer large amount of dialogues. Comic books are serving as somewhat of a substitute for novels right now, and I’ve found the more dialogue a title offers the more closely it resembles a novel.

I’m looking forward to reading the remaining 5 issues in the Mystery of the Mechanical Corpse… whenever they become available.

Will I read it to my children?

At ages 6 and 3, steampunk isn’t something that they seem interested in. Or much less able to comprehend. But if I thought they might be interested I’d read it to them.

Leave a Reply

