Image

Review: More Than Meets The Eye

More Than Meets The Eye Cover

More Than Meets The Eye Cover

I purchased my first comic book in my mid thirties, and count myself lucky that it was Transformers: More Than Meets The Eye.

In this earlier post, I ramble on about how continuity of the Transformers series is so loosely aligned between multiple continuities it appears inconsistent to newcomers (I didn’t say it that well, but it certainly captures the essence of the post).

I read Volumes 1 through 4 using the kindle app on my android tablet which got me through issue 16. For the moment, Volume 5 is only available in print.

Volume 1 begins with a “one shot” that splits the Transformers story line into two directions: More Than Meets the Eye and Robots in Disguise. I’m saving my thoughts on the diverging story lines for a separate post.

I picked More Than Meets the Eye as my introduction into Transformer comics based on the reviews it received from Amazon. Many of the reviewers that loved it seemed were not comic book collectors, but enjoyed the original cartoon as children. In contrast, the reviewers that complained about it were comic book puritans.

I’ll say it again, I was lucky this was my first comic book. The artwork complemented and enhanced the story. I read each volume at least twice so I could enjoy and appreciate the art.

The artists’ interpretation of Rodimus throughout the series is impressive. He is frequently drawn with an extremely relaxed posture which distinguishes him from the others. This compliments his highly emotional character, a trait I find engaging. Rodimus experiences the range of human emotion more than any other Transformer.

More Than Meets the Eye has story lines full of conflict and turmoil, including one Autobot’s struggle with addiction, another who copes with his past through violence, another that over compensates his insecurities by talking constantly, and plenty of others. To help guide the Autobots (and the readers) through these challenging character traits is a psychiatrist named Rung.

There are a multitude of villains. Some are new (I think) and some from the past, which the series effortlessly reintroduces.

The one exception is an ongoing story line with Skids which I am struggling to understand. His character seems to have a lot of history that is excluded from the series. Although, I could be wrong since the character is admittedly suffering from memory loss.

It is worth noting that a different reviewer had trouble following all the characters, but it seems he was only reviewing issue #1.

I’m going to hold off on reading this series to my kids (who are enjoying the Rescue Bots ). More Than Meets the Eye has plenty of gory scenes, even though it is energon and not blood. These scenes would likely distract them from enjoying the larger story.

Overall, this was an enjoyable read for me and a good start into a larger series. I wouldn’t recommend it if you just want to read one graphic novel and be done with the series.

Leave a Reply

